The Team

In 2014, Mikey Muhanna started afikra out of a desire to create an intellectual community in NYC dedicated to exploring Arab history and culture. Farah Assir, Leen Sadder, and Rami Abou-Khalil were among the original team members whose contributions have helped shape our mission, our brand, and the NYC chapter. Other early contributors include Malek Rasamny, Kareem Salman, Dina Mahmoud, Tala Mansi, Dalia Hamati, Olivia Shabb, Yazan Kopty, Laila Mokhiber, & Fady Atallah.

Over the past few years, afikra has grown to cities all over the world. Currently, there are a whole host of volunteer team members who run the afikra chapters globally. To learn more about the people behind afikra, check out the information below.

Our team is always growing! If you are interested in getting involved at afikra, feel free to contact us.

 
 

Institutional Support:

1a1a6d6013b5e921873f7969347db246.png
 

Barjeel Art Foundation (Sharjah)
barjeelartfoundation.org

Chapter Champions:

I. Atwi
J. Jackson & E. Muhanna
Kopty Family
B. Shawaf
L. Zovighian

Board of Advisors:

Coming soon!

Community Support:

Thank you to the 150 community donors from around the globe for contributing to our 2016 Annual Community Fundraiser.


 Mikey Muhanna   Founder, Executive Director    LinkedIn   @mikey_mu

Mikey Muhanna

Founder, Executive Director
LinkedIn
@mikey_mu

communications, operations & presentation support

  Youssef Farhat    LinkedIn   @j.a.farhat

Youssef Farhat

LinkedIn
@j.a.farhat

  Farah Berrou     LinkedIn   @farrahberrou
  Tarik Chelali    LinkedIn   @tarik.che

Tarik Chelali

LinkedIn
@tarik.che

  Haya Shaath     LinkedIn   

Haya Shaath


LinkedIn
 

  Khaled Malas    LinkedIn    

Khaled Malas

LinkedIn

 

  Yasmine Saab     LinkedIn   

Yasmine Saab


LinkedIn
 

  Aya Abdallah    LinkedIn   @aaaayayayaya    

Aya Abdallah

LinkedIn
@aaaayayayaya

 

NEW YORK CHAPTER

 Dina Mahmoud   LinkedIn   @dinamahmoud
 Dalia Hamati   LinkedIn   @daliany

Dalia Hamati

LinkedIn
@daliany

 Farah Assir   LinkedIn   @farahassir
 Rami Abou-Khalil   LinkedIn   @rami_ak    

Rami Abou-Khalil

LinkedIn
@rami_ak

 

 Tala Mansi   LinkedIn   @talam_

Tala Mansi

LinkedIn
@talam_

WASHINGTON DC CHAPTER

 Laila Mokhiber   LinkedIn   @lailamo

Laila Mokhiber

LinkedIn
@lailamo

 Mahdi Blaine   @marocthecasbah

Mahdi Blaine

@marocthecasbah

 Yazan Kopty   @yazankopty   

Yazan Kopty

@yazankopty
 

 Maha Kamel   @maha_kamel

Maha Kamel

@maha_kamel

 Susu Habayeb   LinkedIn   @shabayeb

Susu Habayeb

LinkedIn
@shabayeb

 Yehia Chawki   @yehia_c   

Yehia Chawki

@yehia_c
 

DUBAI CHAPTER

 Leen Sadder   LinkedIn   @leensadder
 Nadine Kopty   LinkedIn   @nadinekopty
 Mazen Jomaa   LinkedIn   @mjomaa88
 

MONTREAL CHAPTER

 Fady Atallah   LinkedIn   @freddyatali
 

Bahrain Chapter

 Moayed Almoayed   LinkedIn   @mtalmoayed

Moayed Almoayed

LinkedIn
@mtalmoayed

 Bader Al Saad   @baderalsaad

Bader Al Saad

@baderalsaad

 Nadia Muijrers   LinkedIn                                                                        @nadiamujrers

Nadia Muijrers

LinkedIn                                                                      @nadiamujrers

 Latifa Al Khalifa   @toofarco

Latifa Al Khalifa

@toofarco

 

Beirut Chapter

 Dima Boulad   LinkedIn   @dimaboulad
 Micheline Tobia   LinkedIn   @michatobia

Micheline Tobia

LinkedIn
@michatobia

 Muriel Kahwaji   LinkedIn   @murielkahwagi
 

London Chapter

 Mysa Kafil-Hussain    LinkedIn                                                                     @my_sa          

Mysa Kafil-Hussain 

LinkedIn                                                                   @my_sa         

 Dina Yunis   LinkedIn

Dina Yunis

LinkedIn

 Nourhan Nassar   @nourhan.nassar

Nourhan Nassar

@nourhan.nassar

 Ahmad Yamak    LinkedIn

Ahmad Yamak

 LinkedIn